Petri.co.il forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Other > Misc
Petri.co.il is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

Lan card and power

Lan card and power

this thread has 7 replies and has been viewed 2457 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd October 2006, 15:25
comlink comlink is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Aug 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 3
 Reputation: comlink is on a distinguished road (10)
Talking Lan card and power

hi
i have a dell d505 laptopcomputer running windows xp with service pack 2 on it
this morning i discovered after troubleshooting that my ethernet port(LAN) port always shows state media disconnected whenever i plug in the power cable.
on a continous ping to any known ip it works fine but shows the hardware error then destination host unreachable errors after pluging the power.
the wireless card works fine with or without the power.
Anyone know what might be causing this?
  #2  
Old 3rd October 2006, 16:06
wullieb1 wullieb1 is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Jul 2005
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Brisbane, Australia
 Posts: 6,879
 Reputation: wullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to behold (752)
Default Re: Lan card and power

Have you updated the BIOS and drivers??

What happens when you run the Dell Diagnostics??

Also what do you mean by "ethernet port(LAN) port always shows state media disconnected whenever i plug in the power cable."??

Do you mean the LAN cable or the actual power cable for the laptop??
  #3  
Old 3rd October 2006, 18:08
comlink comlink is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Aug 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 3
 Reputation: comlink is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Lan card and power

ive tried to update the drivers it says thats the current best driver available.
i will try to update the bios now.
the lan connection shows the network cable unplugged sign.so it is the lan cable and not the power cable that shows unplugged
  #4  
Old 4th October 2006, 03:58
arberibrahimi's Avatar
arberibrahimi arberibrahimi is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Sep 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Kosova
 Posts: 44
  Send a message via Skype™ to arberibrahimi
 Reputation: arberibrahimi is on a distinguished road (20)
Default Re: Lan card and power

Try downloading from dell support site "DELL QUICK SET". Inside of this package of softwares is "Internal Network Card Power Management" which helps managing with internal network card when using in batery power or plugged in AC.

It may help for your problem.
__________________
Arber I. Ibrahimi
  #5  
Old 4th October 2006, 11:03
biggles77's Avatar
biggles77 biggles77 is offline
Administrator
 
 Join Date: Dec 2003
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Nowhere that I like.
 Posts: 10,974
 Reputation: biggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to behold (766)
Default Re: Lan card and power

Have you tried changing it to a different port on the switch? Individual switch ports have been known to fail.
Have you tried reseating the card or even swaping it to another slot?
__________________
"There I stood at the bar, wearing a Mae West, no jacket, and beginning to leak blood from my torn boot. None of the golfers took any notice of me - after all, I wasn't a member!" Kenneth Lee - after being shot down during the Battle of Britain on the 18th August 1940.

************************************************** **********************
** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **
************************************************** **********************
  #6  
Old 4th October 2006, 19:07
comlink comlink is offline
Casual
Casual
 
 Join Date: Aug 2006
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 3
 Reputation: comlink is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: Lan card and power

yes i have tried different ports on the switch and even differnt switches.
i think i have been able to be sure that the problem is with the system.
the quick set feature does not give a troubleshoot option.
it just says the card is activated regardless of what the status is on the system wheather online or offline
thanks
  #7  
Old 5th October 2006, 09:38
biggles77's Avatar
biggles77 biggles77 is offline
Administrator
 
 Join Date: Dec 2003
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Nowhere that I like.
 Posts: 10,974
 Reputation: biggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to beholdbiggles77 is a splendid one to behold (766)
Default Re: Lan card and power

Have you had a look inside the laptop port and seen if any of the pins are bent out of shape?
__________________
"There I stood at the bar, wearing a Mae West, no jacket, and beginning to leak blood from my torn boot. None of the golfers took any notice of me - after all, I wasn't a member!" Kenneth Lee - after being shot down during the Battle of Britain on the 18th August 1940.

************************************************** **********************
** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **
************************************************** **********************

Last edited by biggles77; 5th October 2006 at 09:42..
  #8  
Old 5th October 2006, 11:44
wullieb1 wullieb1 is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Jul 2005
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Brisbane, Australia
 Posts: 6,879
 Reputation: wullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to beholdwullieb1 is a splendid one to behold (752)
Default Re: Lan card and power

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles77
Have you had a look inside the laptop port and seen if any of the pins are bent out of shape?
Damn you Biggles77.

That was my next question.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 11:16.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri