Petri.co.il forums Home Forums Start Page Forums Frequently Asked Questions FAQ Member List Members List
Go Back   Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums > Server Operating Systems > Windows Server 2008 / 2008 R2
Petri.co.il is happy to award RicklesP the title of Most Valuable Member !!!
Register Calendar Calendar Search Petri IT Knowledgebase Forums Search Todays Posts Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Notices

2008 R2 Firewall "Change Settings" Greyed Out

2008 R2 Firewall "Change Settings" Greyed Out

this thread has 4 replies and has been viewed 3553 times

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th May 2012, 18:01
Kobe 310 Kobe 310 is offline
Junior Member
Staying around
 
 Join Date: May 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 188
 Reputation: Kobe 310 is on a distinguished road (10)
Default 2008 R2 Firewall "Change Settings" Greyed Out

My terminal server is part of a domain. There are 2 servers, a DC, and a TS, i just created them 1 hour ago. On the terminal server, when I go to Control Panel\System and Security\Windows Firewall\Allow a Program or Feature Through Windows Firewall.......the "Change Settings" tab is greyed out.


any ideas?

Last edited by Kobe 310; 29th May 2012 at 18:09..
  #2  
Old 29th May 2012, 18:04
Virtual Virtual is offline
Moderator
 
 Join Date: Jul 2008
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: England, UK
 Posts: 2,805
 Reputation: Virtual is a jewel in the roughVirtual is a jewel in the roughVirtual is a jewel in the rough (286)
Default Re: 2008 R2 Firewall "Change Settings" Greyed Out

It is probably locked down via Group Policy and/or you don't have the rights to change it. Are you the Domain admin?
  #3  
Old 29th May 2012, 18:12
Kobe 310 Kobe 310 is offline
Junior Member
Staying around
 
 Join Date: May 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 188
 Reputation: Kobe 310 is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: 2008 R2 Firewall "Change Settings" Greyed Out

yes, they're VM's, just spun them up, i dont know where in the group policy they would be controlled at. I have been looking everywhere, have been searching the web, can't find anything that works.

If it is controlled by the DC, would it be under user or computer, a little confused by that, does the gp policy of the domain controller named "computer" control just the DC's computer, or any computer attatched to the domain?

Thanks
  #4  
Old 29th May 2012, 19:52
Ossian Ossian is offline
Administrator
 
 Join Date: Nov 2003
  6 month star 12 month star
 Location: Bonnie Scotland
 Posts: 16,359
  Send a message via Skype™ to Ossian
 Reputation: Ossian has much to be proud ofOssian has much to be proud ofOssian has much to be proud ofOssian has much to be proud ofOssian has much to be proud ofOssian has much to be proud ofOssian has much to be proud ofOssian has much to be proud ofOssian has much to be proud ofOssian has much to be proud of (1463)
Default Re: 2008 R2 Firewall "Change Settings" Greyed Out

If a group policy is attached to the domain, or the TS is in an OU with a policy for the OU, it will fall under the policy. There is a specific DomainControllers OU which has at least one policy attached for DCs only
__________________
Tom Jones
MCT, MCSE (2000:Security & 2003), MCSA:Security & Messaging, MCDBA, MCDST, MCITP(EA, EMA, SA, EDA, ES, CS), MCTS, MCP, Sec+
PhD, MSc, FIAP, MIITT
IT Trainer / Consultant
Ossian Ltd
Scotland

** Remember to give credit where credit is due and leave reputation points where appropriate **
  #5  
Old 30th May 2012, 15:23
Kobe 310 Kobe 310 is offline
Junior Member
Staying around
 
 Join Date: May 2009
  6 month star 12 month star
 Posts: 188
 Reputation: Kobe 310 is on a distinguished road (10)
Default Re: 2008 R2 Firewall "Change Settings" Greyed Out

this would be the default group policy applied when you set up a server.

I found an article yesterday that said if the button was greyed out, that the button had been pressed. So i guess what i'm looking at is what i would see if i pressed the buuton. .....Hours of research for nothing
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Client Take Long Time (5+ mins) to "Applying Personal Settings" HotDay2222 Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 3 23rd September 2009 21:57
"Users must change password.." OWA users cannot change pswd from "inside" firewall svinay23 Exchange 2000 / 2003 4 13th November 2008 08:51
"Applying Personal Settings" for > 30 minutes, WinXP and Win2k3 server paradigmcc Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 7 8th March 2007 11:43
Server 2003 TS: can I change "device" to "user" licenses? Ossian Terminal Services 3 29th September 2006 20:55
Yahoo messenger login as "firewall with no proxies" MasterG Windows Server 2000 / 2003 / 2003 R2 2 24th June 2006 09:11


All times are GMT +3. The time now is 06:51.

Steel Blue 3.5.4 vBulletin Style ©2006 vBEnhanced
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Valid XHTML 1.0!   Valid CSS!

Copyright 2005 Daniel Petri